Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop

Philosophy

Showing all 10 results

  • Strange New World

    $17.99

    From Philosophy to Technology, Tracing the Origin of Identity Politics

    How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.” Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics, providing readers with a clearer understanding of the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and issues related to personal identity. For fans of Trueman’s The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this new book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

    Add to cart
  • Think Better : Unlocking The Power Of Reason

    $21.99

    In a world dominated by half-truths, illogic, and intellectual laziness, Think Better helps readers understand what reason is and how to use it well.Reason is a powerful tool not only for finding our way in an increasingly complex world but also for growing intellectually and emotionally. This short, accessible volume unlocks the dynamics of human reason, helping readers to think critically and to use reason confidently to solve problems. It enables readers to think more clearly and precisely about the world and tackles a number of profound philosophical questions without getting bogged down with jargon. Topics include knowledge, identity, leadership, creativity, and empathy.Written in an accessible style that integrates philosophy, illustrations, personal anecdotes, and statistical data, this book is well suited for use in undergraduate, classical school, and home school contexts. It is an invaluable guide for anyone interested in gaining better reasoning skills and a more rational approach to life.

    Add to cart
  • Believing Philosophy : A Guide To Becoming A Christian Philosopher

    $24.99

    Philosophy has been a part of Christianity since its earliest days, and theistic philosophy predates Christianity by thousands of years. But Christians today often don’t realize or are skeptical about what all that philosophy can offer them. Believing Philosophy introduces Christians to philosophy and the tools it offers believers, helping them understand, articulate, and defend their faith in an age of unbelief.

    In Part 1 of the book, author Dolores G. Morris explains why Christians should read and study philosophy. She begins with a helpful historical overview of Christian philosophy from the church fathers to contemporary philosophers and then introduces the basic resources of philosophical reasoning: the role and aim of reason, distinctions between truth and reason and provability, and learning to read like a philosopher. These chapters address three foundational questions:
    *What is philosophy?
    *Why should a Christian study philosophy?
    *How should a Christian study philosophy?

    In Part 2, Morris introduces students to philosophical arguments and questions relevant to Christians. She presents arguments by three key branches of philosophy: metaphysics, epistemology, and practical philosophy. Building on concepts introduced in Part 1, she explains what philosophical arguments are and how they ought to be evaluated from a philosophical and Christian perspective. The following chapters examine specific questions most pressing for Christians today:
    *The problem of evil
    *Rationality and faith
    *Free willSkeptical theism
    *The moral argument for the existence of God
    *Reformed epistemology

    Each chapter introduces the problem, explains Christian responses, discusses the strengths and weaknesses of each response, and leaves the final verdict to the reader. Finally, each chapter concludes with a list of recommended further readings.

    Add to cart
  • Rise And Triumph Of The Modern Self

    $34.99

    Modern culture is obsessed with identity. Since the landmark Obergefell v. Hodges Supreme Court decision in 2015, sexual identity has dominated both public discourse and cultural trends-and yet, no historical phenomenon is its own cause. From Augustine to Marx, various views and perspectives have contributed to the modern understanding of self. In The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, Carl Trueman carefully analyzes the roots and development of the sexual revolution as a symptom, rather than the cause, of the human search for identity. This timely exploration of the history of thought behind the sexual revolution teaches readers about the past, brings clarity to the present, and gives guidance for the future as Christians navigate the culture’s ever-changing search for identity.

    Add to cart
  • Myth And Meaning In Jordan Peterson

    $18.99

    Popular philosopher Jordan Peterson has captured the imagination of Western world.

    For some, Peterson represents all that is wrong with patriarchal culture; for others, he is the Canadian academic prophet who has come to save civilization from dizzying confusion. Regardless of how one feels about him, his influence in North America–and beyond–is difficult to deny.

    While the “Peterson phenomenon” has motivated numerous articles and responses, much of what has been written is either excessively fawning or overly critical. Little has been produced that explores Peterson’s thought–especially his immensely popular 12 Rules for Life–within the context of his overall context and scholarly output. How is one to understand the ascendency of Jordan Peterson and why he’s become so popular? Does his earlier Maps of Meaning shed light on how one might understand his worldwide bestseller, 12 Rules for Life?In Myth and Meaning in Jordan Peterson, scholars across various disciplines explore various aspects of Jordan Peterson’s thought from a Christian perspective. Both critical and charitable, sober-minded and generous, this collection of ten essays is a key resource for those looking to faithfully engage with Jordan Peterson’s thought.

    Add to cart
  • Think And Grow Rich

    $17.95

    Think and Grow Rich – Over 80 Million Copies Sold

    This edition of Napoleon Hill’s Classic Think and Grow Rich is a reproduction of Napoleon Hill’s personal copy of the first edition, the ONLY original version recommended by The Napoleon Hill Foundation, originally printed in March of 1937.

    The most famous of all teachers of success spent a fortune and the better part of a lifetime of effort to produce the Law of Success philosophy that forms the basis of his books and that is so powerfully summarized and explained for the general public in this book.

    In Think and Grow Rich, Hill draws on stories of Andrew Carnegie, Thomas Edison, Henry Ford, and other millionaires of his generation to illustrate his principles. This book will teach you the secrets that could bring you a fortune. It will show you not only what to do but how to do it. Once you learn and apply the simple, basic techniques revealed here, you will have mastered the secret of true and lasting success.

    Money and material things are essential for freedom of body and mind, but there are some who will feel that the greatest of all riches can be evaluated only in terms of lasting friendships, loving family relationships, understanding between business associates, and introspective harmony which brings one true peace of mind! All who read, understand, and apply this philosophy will be better prepared to attract and enjoy these spiritual values.

    BE PREPARED! When you expose yourself to the influence of this philosophy, you may experience a CHANGED LIFE which can help you negotiate your way through life with harmony and understanding and prepare you for the accumulation of abundant material riches.

    Add to cart
  • Walking With C S Lewis A Companion Guide

    $19.99

    Walking with C. S. Lewis is an ideal guide for longtime Lewis fans and new readers alike to dive into the man, his works, and his impact alongside well-respected voices in the Lewis community. Each segment in this ten-segment video series focuses on a different book or topic in Lewis’ life, showing for each how the writings flowed out of Lewis’ life and thought. Professor Tony Ash also tells the story of his discovery of Lewis when he was a young man in transition and how Lewis has continued to shape his life and view of God in subsequent years. The richly detailed companion guide provides helpful summary of Lewis’ works and helps readers see the deeper connections between the books and the man who wrote them. In the video series, viewers will follow Professor Ash, seasoned biblical studies scholar and longtime Lewis aficionado, with many segments filmed on-location in Lewis’ Oxford. In the companion guide, Ryan Pemberton–former president of the Oxford University C. S. Lewis Society and author of Called: My Journey to C. S. Lewis’s House and Back Again provides an eloquent but accessible framework to better understand Lewis himself as well as a helpful supplementary discussion on many of his best-known works. The videos and companion guide are ideal for individual or group study, alongside one of his books or as a standalone inquiry into the man who has shaped the thought and faith of so many readers.

    Add to cart
  • How To Write Your Own Ticket With God

    $1.95

    This classic message, received by divine inspiration, gives four principles for receiving whatever you need from God.

    Add to cart
  • Answer For Oppression

    $1.95

    The anointing of God’s power, ministered in love, is the key to deliverance from depression and oppression.

    Add to cart
  • Turning Hopeless Situations Around

    $5.95

    1. What Can You Believe?
    2. What Do You See?
    3. Plead Your Case
    4. Correct Your Situation
    5. Favorite Of The Father

    Additional Info
    Be assured that nothing is hopless with God – no matter what the doctor’s diagnosis indicated, no matter what the devil ceaselessly torments you with. Nothing. Not cancer, not drugs, not a loved one’s problem.
    Why? Because Jesus said”…If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth”(Mark 9:23).
    In the book Turning Hopeless Situations Around, Rev. Kenneth E. Hagin examines the story of Old Testament King Hezekiah, who faced a seemingly hopeless situation. Not only had his doctors declared his case incurable; the nation’s most renowned prophet, Isaiah, had prophesied that he would die.
    But King Hezekiah knew ther was a higher power to turn to. He turned his face to the wall and prayed to God. The king’s earnest praer – with tears – touched the heart of God and turned his hopeless situation around. Study the message of this book and turn your hopeless situation around, too, with prayer.

    Add to cart

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop